Skip to main content

Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records

Identifier: IWA0174

  • Staff Only
  • Please navigate to collection organization to place requests.

Scope and Contents

The Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records date from 1975 to the present and measure 2 linear feet. They are arranged in three series: Annual Ceremonies and Booklets, Inductees, and Other Nomination Packets. An alphabetical list of inductees follows the finding aid.

The Annual Ceremonies and Booklets series includes the most current edition of the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame handbook, which contains a complete listing of all the women who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame with a brief biographical sketch of each. The handbook also includes updated information on inductees' activities in the years following their induction. Also included are programs from induction ceremonies and a few newspaper clippings announcing the names of the women to be inducted. Information on the winners of the Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice, which is presented annually to one person at the Hall of Fame induction ceremony, completes the collection. The first recipient of the Wilson Medal, Governor Robert Ray, received the award in 1982

The Inductees series is organized by year and includes the nomination papers of all the women who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Each woman's nomination papers contain copies of the nomination form (including a list of accomplishments and the name of the person submitting the recommendation), a biographical sketch, and other pertinent information. Occasionally, recommendation letters, articles and photographs are also included. Within each folder, the papers are organized alphabetically by the inductee's last name.

The Other Nomination Packets series is arranged alphabetically. It includes nomination papers for women who were nominated between 1981 and 1988 but not selected for induction. Complete nomination files for all women who have been nominated but not inducted into the Hall of Fame are maintained by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.


  • Creation: 1975-2010


Conditions Governing Access

The records are open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Items created or published by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women are in the public domain.

However, copyright status for some collection materials may be unknown. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.) beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owner. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility and potential liability based on copyright infringement for any use rests exclusively and solely with the user. Users must properly acknowledge the Iowa Women’s Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, as the source of the material. For further information, visit

Biographical / Historical

The Iowa Women's Hall of Fame was established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975. The Hall of Fame recognizes Iowa women who have contributed their ideas, talents, and skills to making a significant impact on society. The Iowa Commission, established in 1972, is a state government agency that seeks to assure equality for Iowa women. Each year a five-member selection committee appointed by the Commission receives nominations for the Hall of Fame and selects four inductees. The four inductees are honored at a special ceremony hosted by the governor of Iowa at the State Historical Society in Des Moines.


2.00 Linear Feet

Language of Materials



Established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975 to recognize the contributions of Iowa women.

Method of Acquisition

The records (donor no. 254) were donated by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women. They are duplicates of records held by the State Archives in Des Moines, Iowa.

Related Materials

Iowa Commission on the Status of Women records (IWA): The organization that established and administers the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame awards.

"Celebrating Iowa Women" (IWA): Notebook with information on the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women and the Cristine Wilson Medal of Equality and Justice. The notebook also includes biographical sketches of inductees from 1975 to 1995 and is shelved in the printed works collection.

Governor Ray's Commission on the Status of Women records (IWA): The appointed commission that preceded the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.

Helen Gunderson photographs (IWA): Black and white photographs of the seventy-fifth anniversary of the women's suffrage celebration parade (Des Moines, Iowa, September 1995) that followed the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

The Iowa Women's Archives holds the papers of several inductees and researchers should check the list of collections for specific individuals.

Angela Swanson, 1996; Nickol Himschoot, 2004; Sharon M. Lake, 2005; Ashley Goulden, 2006; Karissa Haugeberg, 2008.
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Iowa Women's Archives Repository

100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City IA 52242 IaU
319-335-5900 (Fax)