Skip to main content

The Way Up Leadership Conference records

 Collection — Folder: 1
Identifier: IWA1003

Scope and Contents

The Way Up Leadership Conference papers consist of conference registration and schedule brochures and lists of institutional representatives and planning committee members for the conferences held between 1983-1994.


  • Creation: 1983-1994

Conditions Governing Access

These papers are open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

However, copyright status for some collection materials may be unknown. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.) beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owner. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility and potential liability based on copyright infringement for any use rests exclusively and solely with the user. Users must properly acknowledge the Iowa Women’s Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, as the source of the material. For further information, visit

Biographical / Historical

In 1982, the Iowa Department of Education organized a Women in Higher Education conference designed to promote the involvement of women in higher education administration. Iowa State Board of Regents member Margaret “Peg” Anderson gathered a coalition of Iowa women leaders to organize the first The Way Up conference in 1983. Anderson was also active in the Iowa Coordinating Council for Post High School Education and the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women. Other members of the founding coalition included Bob Barak (State Board of Regents), Beverly Gillette Bunker (Iowa Department of Education), Gene Gardner (Iowa Association of Community College Trustees), Pat Geadelmann (ACE-NIP Executive Committee, Iowa Commission on the Status of Women, University of Northern Iowa), Sue Follon (Iowa Commission on the Status of Women), John Hartung (Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, Iowa Coordinating Council for Post High School Education), and Charlotte Nelson (Iowa Commission on the Status of Women). Anderson served as the conference chair in 1983 and 1984. Other women who chaired multiple iterations of the conference include Doreen Hayek, Judy Muselmann, Karen Anderson, and Rhonda Pennings. The conference’s mission statement is “Developing Women Leaders to Enhance Iowa Higher Education,” and conference themes have included women’s leadership, empowerment, and collaboration.

1- “Background,” The Way Up (2017). 2- “Mission,” The Way Up (2017).; “History,” The Way Up (2017).


1.00 linear inches

Language of Materials



Iowa-based conference held annually since 1983 to promote women in higher education.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

The papers (donor no. 1) were donated by Margaret "Peg" Anderson in 2017.

Related Materials

Margaret Anderson papers (IWA0001)

Iowa Women’s Political Caucus records (IWA0019).

The Way Up Leadership Conference records
Katherine Walden
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Iowa Women's Archives Repository

100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City IA 52242 IaU
319-335-5900 (Fax)