Skip to main content

College presidents

Subject Source: Library of Congress Subject Headings

Found in 11 Collections and/or Records:

Amos Noyes Currier Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.005
Dates: 1885-1905

John G. Bowman papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.007

The John G. Bowman papers, 1907-1948, bulk 1911-1914, contains correspondence, annual reports, speeches, and materials relating to the Smith-Lever Act of 1914 from the ninth president of the University of Iowa, John Gabbert Bowman.

Dates: Majority of material found within 1911-1914; 1907 - 1948

Charles A. Schaeffer Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.004

Seventh president of the University of Iowa, 1887-1898.

Dates: 1887-1898

Eugene A. Gilmore Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.010

Twelfth president of the University of Iowa, 1934-1940.

Dates: 1934-1940

Hayakawa, S. I. (Samuel IchiyƩ), 1906-1992

Dates: Existence: 1906-07-18 - 1992-02-27

Howard Bowen Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.012

Nineteenth president of the University of Iowa, 1964-1969.

Dates: 1964 - 1969

Hunter R. Rawlings III Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.016
Scope and Contents

The collection consists of three series: Correspondence, Publications, and Speeches and Articles. The Correspondence series is closed to research 30 years after date of creation. The Publications and Speeches/Articles series are open for research.

Dates: 1988 - 1994

Josiah L. Pickard Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.003

Josiah L. Pickard served as the sixth president of the State University of Iowa, from 1878 to 1887.

Dates: 1878-1887

Mary Sue Coleman Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.018

Eighteenth president of the University of Iowa.

Dates: 1995-2001

Silas Totten Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.002

The second president of the State University of Iowa, serving from 1859 to 1862.

Dates: 1859-1862

Willard L. Boyd Papers

Identifier: RG05.0001.013

President of the University of Iowa, 1969-1981.

Dates: 1969 - 1976