Skip to main content

Republican Party (Iowa)


Found in 53 Collections and/or Records:

Guy G. Butler Papers

Identifier: MsC0233

Iowa state legislator, banker, and farmer. Scrapbooks, speeches, and correspondence all relating to his service in the Iowa legislature.

Dates: 1951-1953

James E. Bromwell Papers

Identifier: MsC0441

Lawyer and U.S. Congressman, 1961-1965. Political and campaign related papers.

Dates: 1959 -1969

James I. Dolliver Papers

Identifier: MsC0243

Attorney, U.S. Representative from Iowa, and Regional Legal Council for the International Cooperation Administration of the Middle East. Correspondence, speeches, and subject files relating to his career.

Dates: 1923-1962; Majority of material found within 1940-1960

James S. Schramm Papers

Identifier: MsC0354

Business executive, Republican Party official, and art collector. Correspondence, speeches, subject files, etc. combine to document Schramm's business and political affairs, as well as his activities in the arts.

Dates: 1932-1979

Janis Torrence Laughlin papers

Identifier: IWA0125

Muscatine County Supervisor from 1976 to 1982 and Representative in the Iowa Legislature from 1983 to 1985.

Dates: 1976-1990

Joan Vander Naald Egenes papers

Identifier: IWA0332

Des Moines-born clubwoman, community leader, businesswoman, and Republican Party activist.

Dates: 1966-1997

John N. Calhoun Papers

Identifier: MsC0274

Lawyer in Burlington, Iowa and Iowa state senator. Correspondence and subject files relating to his legal and political careers and his military service in World War II.

Dates: 1923-1954; Majority of material found within 1933-1936

Karl M. LeCompte Papers

Identifier: MsC0131

U.S. Representative from Iowa. Correspondence, speeches, and scrapbooks relating to his political career.

Dates: 1939 - 1972

Lena Belle Bock papers

Identifier: IWA0118

Member of the Iowa House of Representatives from 1960 to 1964.

Dates: 1960-1981

Lester L. Kluever Papers

Identifier: MsC0338

Iowa state representative and attorney. Correspondence, political files relating to elections and campaigns, and subject folders with topics ranging from apportionment to liquor laws document his legislative service.

Dates: 1949-1970

Lonabelle Kaplan Spencer papers

Identifier: IWA0160

American Association of University Women member and advocate for women's issues including dual listings for married women in Iowa telephone directories.


1997 ACCESSION: Boxes 1-11

2007 ACCESSION: Boxes 12-41

2008 ACCESSION: Boxes 42-65

Dates: 1931-2007

Louis Kehoe Papers

Identifier: MsC0219

Lawyer and journalist. Primarily consist of manuscripts of his columns for Washington, Iowa's Evening Journal, along with some material from his political campaigns.

Dates: 1930-1960

Lucas James DeKoster Papers

Identifier: MsC0289

Iowa state senator. DeKoster's correspondence and legislative newsletters from his terms in the legislature.

Dates: 1967-1982; Majority of material found within 1979-1980

Maggie Tinsman papers

Identifier: IWA0348

Bettendorf Republican who served on the Scott County Board of Supervisors and the Iowa State Senate.

Dates: 1971-2015

Margaret McDonald papers

Identifier: IWA0033

Active in Republican Party and vice-chairman of the Iowa Republican Central Committee in 1970.

Dates: 1964-2004

Marvin W. Smith Papers

Identifier: MsC0263

Farmer and Iowa state legislator. Subject files, reports, etc. on such legislative issues as apportionment and education.

Dates: 1960-1972

Mary Grefe papers

Identifier: IWA0186

Educator, social activist, politician and businesswoman who was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1980.

Dates: 1943-1997

Mary Louise Smith papers

Identifier: IWA0027

First woman to chair the Republican National Committee, serving from 1974 to 1977. Co-founder of the Louise Noun-Mary Louise Smith Iowa Women's Archives.

Dates: 1925-1997

Mona Kadel Martin papers

Identifier: IWA0835

Mona Martin (1934- ) served in the Iowa House of Representatives from Scott County from 1993-2001.

Dates: 1992-2009

Myrtilla F. Levin papers

Identifier: IWA0032

Active in the Republican Party, mayor of Newton, Iowa, and executive director of Iowa Business Council.

Dates: 1971-2010

Additional filters:

Iowa 46
Legislators 32
Political campaigns 24
Archives (groupings) 19
Personal papers 19
∨ more
Photographs 19
Speeches 19
Women -- Political activity 19
20th century 18
Women lawyers 17
Scrapbooks 15
Politicians 11
1971-1980 10
1981-1990 8
Clippings (information artifacts) 7
Cultural artifacts 7
Elections 7
Women in public life 7
Apportionment (Election law) 6
Des Moines (Iowa) 6
Sound recordings 6
1991-2000 5
Abortion 5
Agriculture 5
Correspondence 5
Education 5
Lawyers 5
Taxation 5
Political candidates 4
Political participation 4
Political parties 4
1961-1970 3
Business enterprises 3
Businessmen 3
Civil rights 3
Governors 3
Legislation 3
Memoirs 3
Newspaper publishing 3
Newton (Iowa) 3
Pensions 3
Politics, Practical 3
Video recordings 3
2001-2010 2
Agriculture and politics 2
American literature 2
Banks and banking 2
Burlington (Iowa) 2
Business records 2
Conservation of natural resources 2
County officials and employees 2
Courts 2
English literature 2
Equal rights amendments 2
Jasper County (Iowa) 2
Legislative bodies 2
Local government 2
Newspaper editors 2
Oral histories 2
Panama 2
Periodical editors 2
Personal narratives 2
Political activists 2
Posters 2
Presidents 2
Publishers and publishing 2
Scott County (Iowa) 2
Supervisors (Local government) 2
Tariff 2
Teachers 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
Writers Archive at Iowa 2
Yearbooks 2
1951-1960 1
Adult education 1
Aeronautics 1
African Americans 1
Aging 1
Air quality 1
Airlines 1
Alcohol 1
Algona (Iowa) 1
Arizona 1
Art 1
Authors 1
Autobiographies 1
Bettendorf (Iowa) 1
Black Hawk County (Iowa) 1
Boone (Iowa) 1
Businesswomen 1
Calendars 1
Campaign funds 1
Charles City (Iowa) 1
Cherokee County (Iowa) 1
Child care 1
Christmas cards 1
Collectors and collecting 1
College teachers 1
College teaching 1
Columbus Junction (Iowa) 1
+ ∧ less