Skip to main content

Iowa Women's Hall of Fame



The Iowa Women's Hall of Fame was established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975. The Hall of Fame recognizes Iowa women who have contributed their ideas, talents, and skills to making a significant impact on society. The Iowa Commission, established in 1972, is a state government agency that seeks to assure equality for Iowa women. Each year a five-member selection committee appointed by the Commission receives nominations for the Hall of Fame and selects four inductees. The four inductees are honored at a special ceremony hosted by the governor of Iowa at the State Historical Society in Des Moines.

Found in 7 Collections and/or Records:

Beverly Everett papers

Identifier: IWA0148

Family farmer, volunteer, and community activist who served on U.S. National Commission for UNESCO and the International Women's Year Commission.

Dates: 1856-2001

Edith Sackett papers

Identifier: IWA0676

Schoolteacher and Iowa Mother of the Year, 1969.

Dates: 1959-1975

Gwendolyn Fowler papers

Identifier: IWA0365

The first African American woman pharmacist licensed in Iowa and presidential appointee to the United States Foreign Service in the 1950s.

Dates: 1905-1996

Iowa Women's Hall of Fame records

Identifier: IWA0174

Established by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women in 1975 to recognize the contributions of Iowa women.

Dates: 1975-2010

Margaret Atherton Bonney papers

Identifier: IWA0313

Bonney's research files include Iowa suffragist Mary Jane Coggeshall, scientist Mary Louise Putnam, physician Jennie McCowen, and pioneer evangelist and minister, Abner Kneeland

Dates: 1810-1992

Marguerite Cothorn papers

Identifier: IWA0402

Social worker and political activist, who served on the Iowa Civil Rights Commission from 1983 to 1984.

Dates: 1928-1995

Mary Jane Coggeshall papers

Identifier: IWA1331

Photocopied letter and biographical ephemera.

Dates: 1895; 2021 - 2022

Additional filters:

Archives (groupings) 6
Photographs 6
Personal papers 5
Des Moines (Iowa) 4
Women in public life 4