Skip to main content

National League of American Pen Women, Iowa City Branch records

Identifier: IWA0655

Scope and Contents

The National League of American Pen Women, Iowa City branch records date from 1963 to 1993 and measure 2.5 linear inches. The records consist of administrative records, programs, photographs, and files regarding individual members.


  • 1964-1995


Conditions Governing Access

The papers are open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright held by the donor has been transferred to the University of Iowa.

However, copyright status for some collection materials may be unknown. Transmission or reproduction of materials protected by U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.) beyond that allowed by fair use requires the written permission of the copyright owner. Works not in the public domain cannot be commercially exploited without permission of the copyright owners. Responsibility and potential liability based on copyright infringement for any use rests exclusively and solely with the user. Users must properly acknowledge the Iowa Women’s Archives, The University of Iowa Libraries, as the source of the material. For further information, visit

Biographical / Historical

The National League of American Pen Women was formed in Washington, D.C. in 1897, because the National Press Club would not admit women writers. The Iowa City branch was organized in 1963 and chartered in February of 1964. Edith Pierce was the catalyst. When women who had traveled many miles to attend Des Moines branch meetings were notified, five members switched to the Iowa City branch. Together with four local women, the total was nine members. The early years saw meetings held in homes. Many writers garnered awards. In 1965 Margaret Walker Alexander, a black graduate student, spoke to the group.

Over the years, poetry workshops and speakers comprised the programs, and a luncheon was included. New members were invited if they met the requirements of professionalism prescribed by the organization. Writers had to have been paid for published works and artists had to have sold works and to have been asked to show in juried shows. Composers were also eligible for membership. The Iowa City branch awards prize monies to students. Members compete at a state convention every other year forsmall prize monies.


2.50 linear inches

Language of Materials



The local branch was formed in 1963 and awards prize money to students.

Method of Acquisition

The records (donor no. 540) were donated by Nancy Pfeiffer Towner in 2000.

Related Materials

Iowa Press Women records (IWA): Contains information on the National League of American Pen Women, Des Moines branch.

National League of American Pen Women, Quad Cities branch records (IWA).

National League of American Pen Women, Waterloo-Cedar Rapids records (IWA).

Constance Frick Irwin papers (IWA): Irwin was a member of the organization.

Lois Muehl papers (IWA): Muehl was a member of the organization.

Mary Rouse papers (IWA): Rouse was a member of the organization.

Nancy Pfeiffer Towner, 2000.
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Iowa Women's Archives Repository

100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City IA 52242 IaU
319-335-5900 (Fax)