Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 16 of 16

Beverly A. Hannon papers

Identifier: IWA0065

Two-term Iowa state senator. Hannon chaired the Human Resources Committee and was instrumental in founding the Iowa Women's Foundation in Iowa City.

Dates: 1968-2015

Connie McBurney papers

Identifier: IWA0888

Journalist and 1996 congressional candidate.

Dates: 1996-2002

Democratic Activist Women's Network, District 1 records

Identifier: IWA0602

Organization created to recruit, educate, and elect Democratic women to public office in Iowa.

Dates: 1981-2009

Elaine Szymoniak papers

Identifier: IWA0166

Iowa State senator, Des Moines City Council member, and hearing and speech consultant.

Dates: 1974-2004

Elizabeth R. Miller papers

 Collection — Folder: 1
Identifier: IWA0112

Farm woman and Republican state legislator from Marshalltown, Iowa.


One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Dates: 1972-1984

Janet Shipton papers

Identifier: IWA0264

Political activist and Johnson County, Iowa, supervisor who was the daughter of British Prime Minister Clement Attlee.

Dates: 1936-1991

Jo Ann Zimmerman papers

Identifier: IWA0351

Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1982 and in 1986, she became the first woman Lieutenant Governor of Iowa.

Dates: 1958-1995

Johnie Hammond papers

Identifier: IWA0563

Democratic representative and senator in the Iowa legislature.

Dates: 1970-2006

Josephine Gruhn papers

Identifier: IWA0382

Britt, Iowa-born member of the Iowa House of Representatives and vice-chair of the Committee on Agriculture during the farm crisis of the 1980s.

Dates: 1982-1992

Joyce Schulte papers

Identifier: IWA0892

Democratic candidate for Iowa's fifth congressional district in 2004 and 2006.


One folder, shelved in SCVF.

Dates: 2004-2010

Kim Landhuis papers

Identifier: IWA0236

Native of Vietnam who became a teacher, school board member, and 1994 candidate for the Iowa senate.

Dates: 1943-2004

Mona Kadel Martin papers

Identifier: IWA0835

Mona Martin (1934- ) served in the Iowa House of Representatives from Scott County from 1993-2001.

Dates: 1992-2009

Opal Miller papers

Identifier: IWA0359

Democrat, educator and clubwoman who served in the Iowa House of Representatives in the 1970s.

Dates: 1960-1998

Patricia Harper papers

Identifier: IWA0510

Iowa State Representative and Senator who served in the legislature from 1987 to 2002.

Dates: 1986-2003

Sonja Larsen papers

Identifier: IWA0439

Republican representative in the Iowa legislature who ran for mayor of Ottumwa in 1981.

Dates: 1977-1982

Vera Shivvers papers

Identifier: IWA0464

Iowa farm woman who was elected to fill her husband's term in the Iowa Senate following his death in 1962.

Dates: 1914-1990

Filtered By

  • Subject: Political campaigns X
  • Subject: Political candidates X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Personal papers 15
Women lawyers 15
Photographs 12
Iowa 11
Legislators 11
∨ more
Cultural artifacts 8
Speeches 8
1981-1990 7
1991-2000 7
2001-2010 7
20th century 6
Correspondence 5
1971-1980 4
Sound recordings 4
Women in public life 4
Diaries 3
Families 3
Legislation 3
Rural women 3
Scrapbooks 3
Teachers 3
Video recordings 3
Women in agriculture 3
Abortion 2
Albuquerque (N.M.) 2
Des Moines (Iowa) 2
Iowa City (Iowa) 2
Medical care 2
Memoirs 2
Oral histories 2
Political activists 2
Reproductive rights 2
Volunteers 2
2011-2020 1
Administrative records 1
Agriculture 1
Ames (Iowa) 1
Apartment houses 1
Autobiographies 1
Bedford (Iowa) 1
Businesswomen 1
Child care 1
Children of deaf parents 1
City council members 1
College students 1
Community life 1
Deafness 1
Dickinson County (Iowa) 1
Education 1
Elections 1
Emmet County (Iowa) 1
Employee fringe benefits 1
Employee rights 1
England 1
Equal rights amendments 1
Family planning 1
Farm management 1
Farmers 1
Farms 1
Fort Dodge (Iowa) 1
Health 1
Human rights 1
Indianola (Iowa) 1
Johnson County (Iowa) 1
Jones County (Iowa) 1
Journalists 1
Kathmandu (Nepal) 1
Knoxville (Iowa) 1
Lacey (Iowa) 1
Lieutenant governors 1
Manchester (Iowa) 1
Marshalltown (Iowa) 1
McPherson (Kan.) 1
Municipal government 1
Noise control 1
Nurses 1
Nursing 1
Older people 1
Ottumwa (Iowa) 1
Patient advocacy 1
Political clubs 1
Politicians 1
Public welfare 1
Real estate agents 1
Retirement 1
Rockwell City (Iowa) 1
Saigon (Vietnam) 1
Saint Louis (Mo.) 1
School board members 1
Scott County (Iowa) 1
Sitka (Alaska) 1
Speech disorders 1
Speech therapists 1
Speech therapy 1
Story County (Iowa) 1
Supervisors (Local government) 1
+ ∧ less
Democratic Party (Iowa) 8
Iowa. General Assembly. House of Representatives 7
Iowa. General Assembly. Senate 6
Republican Party (Iowa) 3
O'Dea, Suzanne, 1950- 2